Tags

, , , , , ,

Well the second week of the Easter break has started and the snow has disappeared, only to be replaced by rain. Bleh.  Jay and I both have the week off work to spend time with the girls, so yesterday we decided to take them to the Macduff Marine Aquarium.

The aquarium had a number of things going for it;

It was close by (just over an hour away)

It was indoors (incase the rain came down)

It was pretty inexpensive (who isn’t on a tight budget now a days)

And the girls are fascinated by fish (first thing they ask to see in the pet store)

So we packed sandwiches, fruit, a flask of tea,  juice and set off.

I think we all agreed it was well worth the trip.

The big tank was pretty amazing with some weird prehistoric looking fish and also some HUGE fish in it. I have to admit I am not very knowledgeable about sea creatures, so I was stunned to discover the massive ones were cod. Not what I imagined they looked like when tucking into a fish supper.

The little tanks were interesting too. The baby flat fish with faces were cool but also a little bit creepy. They reminded me of Cassandra from Doctor Who (moisturise me).

 

 

 

For me though, the most fascinating was the Moon Jellyfish.  These creatures are 95% water and have no brain, bones or heart, they are so graceful to watch and absolutely beautiful.

I think at the end of the day Jay and I enjoyed it as much as the kids (if not more) and look forward to going back another day.

