Tags

, , , ,

Today AJ passed a milestone. It wasn’t any of the ones the health visitors talk about, like feeding herself or turning a page in a book. She is five, she can do all that. It wasn’t even writing her name or adding simple sums… she can do that too.

No, today AJ cracked a joke.

For months now we’ve been getting jokes that were, well, not jokes at all. For example:

Why did the chicken cross the road? Because he was a cat.

What do you get if you cross a bear and a dog? A motorbike.

Jay and I have learnt to channel our inner Santa and ho, ho, ho with the best of them (for some reason Bart thinks they are genuinely funny and laughs her head off). So when I picked AJ up from school today and she told me she had a joke, I started to mentally put on the red suit and buff up the black wellies. But no, it was actually funny. I don’t think she will have a career in stand up, but both Jay and I genuinely laughed.

So here it is…

Where do chickens go on holiday? Buck… buck… Buckieeeeee.

If you don’t know the area you may not get it, but believe me, with AJ flapping her arms in a chicken impression, it was a good one.

