Tags

, , ,

Last weekend my younger sister celebrated her 40th birthday. Amongst all her Facebook birthday messages there was one from a friend who commented that it was ten years ago we celebrated her 30th with a trip to Dublin. I can not believe ten years have passed and we are both in such different places in our lives. I remember walking around Temple Bar and Fi being down in the dumps at leaving her twenties behind, but I don’t think even she could have imagined the changes the next ten years were to bring.

She had the courage to walk away from a long-term relationship which was not working and came to Scotland to stay near Jay and I. Then when she felt able, she returned south.

She bumped into an old friend, which turned into a dinner date. The date turned into a romance and they set up house together.

Now my little sister is happily married to a wonderful man who loves and appreciates her. She has two gorgeous boys and has her own business.

Happy Birthday Fi. I am so proud of you.

