Tags

, ,

Last Friday I dragged myself out from under the duvet in the very wee hours of the morning to get ready for a trip to hear Holly Van Gulden speak in Dundee. It turned out to be a very long day, but so worth it.

Holly talked about raising adopted/fostered children who have suffered trauma in early childhood. She spoke about permanence and attachment, the behaviours that occur from a lack of them in a child’s life and what we can do to in the future to help our children achieve a sense of permanence.
I had so many “Oh, so that’s why she does that” and “Aha, that makes sense now” moments during the lecture, it was like she was talking about my children and from looking around the room, the same was happening for many others there.

I came away with deeper understanding of what my girls need from me and their Daddy and some practical steps to help us achieve it.

It was a very long day, but worth it.

