Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This morning I have been lying in bed playing catch up on my friend Kelly’s blog. I often find it amazing that we are two women, living totally different lives, in different countries, but have so many things in common.

Today she once again struck a chord with me. In a blog entitled ‘Proceed With Caution…’ she spoke about wanting to fire herself from her current position of housewife, maid, chauffeur, mother and wife.

Oh, do I know that feeling.

In the same vein, I recently watched an episode of How I Met Your Mother where the character of Lily,  played by the fabulous Alyson Hannigan, admitted to Ted that although she loved Marshall and their baby, sometimes she just wanted to run  away.

I joke to my family about running off to Las Vegas and becoming a showgirl. But being under five foot four and ‘plump’ somehow I don’t think I would find much work. Plus I can’t stand the feeling of having a permanent wedgie from a g-string.

After waiting nineteen years for our children, I do feel guilty about sometimes wanting to get away.

I  think every mother must feel like running at some point.

And maybe some do.

But this Mum is just going to roll up her sleeves and get back to the never-ending pile of laundry.

And maybe dream a little of sequins, sparkles and a feather headdress.

